After the long wait: Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II

IMG_2122

SOME THINGS I WOULD LIKE TO TELL TO MY LOVELY FOLLOWERS: I reaaaaaaaally apologize for not posting new blog entries. To be honest, I lost love in blogging and I think that losing my gadgets (all thanks to those… thieves!) and being in law school would make me quit blogging or pursue a photography career, well, I think I should say I am BACK IN ACTION! Yet, I am no longer the same as before, the MSP that you meet online as the bubbly, funny person–I’m not actually that type of person, unless you know me personally. HAHA.

I was broke, really. I would never expect that I would quit blogging because my online friend’s blog was deleted due to an oppressive policy… or maybe the bashers are long waiting to topple down a blog. GAH. WHY DO BAD THINGS HAPPEN, EVEN THOUGH YOU DON’T WISH FOR IT!?

Okay, never mind. Now I have some great news for all of you. Yep, this time I am taking up a short course in photography–this time, it would be photography as my career… hurrah! But remember, this is a much better thing than being in law school. In law school, you only have to be surrounded by books, nothing more, nothing less–but here, I GUESS I HAVE NEVER BEEN THIS HAPPIER! Being in a photog class helped me grow as a person. No kidding. I would say that I have a wider schedule than before. LOL.

Anyways, because of that, I decided to buy a new lens–in exchange of the old lens. Okay, here it is, the Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II. Well, that’s all I can afford. Never underestimate the cheapest things–it also has a powerful side. Well, take a look.

IMG_2125
Finally… I own a prime lens. With the new cap, though.

IMG_1987
See how sharp this lens is!? Pardon for the photo, this time my photos suck. Not fishing for compliments at all, yet this photo shows the SHARPNESS of the nifty fifty!

IMG_2026
They say that this lens is used to take portraits… but meh, BTW this is Ma-yeen. ((: Almost perfect photograph ugh. The nifty fifty is too difficult to use! LOL.

IMG_1988
Dream lens! Huhuhu… it costs 45,000 pesos! T_T Sa bagay, it’s an L lens.

IMG_2007
Check this out, people. The more you worship the Yellow Oligarchs (well, not only PNoy), the more poverty you will feel. Think again. The Yellow Oligarchs are the pestilence, not Marcos or Gloria or Erap, or anyone who are the enemies of the oligarchs. The price tag says it all. It’s up to you to evaluate (LOL photojourn mode).

Comments

The nifty fifty is actually a very powerful lens–just imagine the wide opening–at f/1.8, at 115 dollars. Yes, this lens ain’t very cheap (if you’re a full-time student) at all, to think that it’s the most inexpensive lens in the market. It is also difficult to use, since it is macro-incapable. Despite the wide aperture it offers, the 1:3 macro ratio is sacrificed. Boo-hoo.

As a matter of fact, the nifty fifty has taught me that zoom lenses are more flexible yet it won’t offer you a fixed aperture unless you want a costlier lens (the 28-70mm, for instance). Zoom lenses have the widest aperture of f/2.8 since it’s more expensive to create zoom lenses with wider apertures–the Sigma 18-35mm f/1.8 broke the stereotype. After all, Sigma is known for innovating lenses–they have art lenses + lens dock for updating firmware. Cool, isn’t it?

Time for you to snag a prime

Prime lenses is said to have better optical quality than zoom lenses. Here, primes vary from the extremes to the middle ground. The extremes are waaay costlier than the non-extremes since you’re dealing with distortion and distance. Just imagine having an EF 14mm L lens or the EF 800mm L lens–better get a nifty fifty or a 35mm lens, or an 85mm lens.

Zoom lenses are great, but if you want MORE depth-of-field adventures + more light and blur background, primes are the best option.

About Molybdenum Studios

I am a very opinionated person. Get used to it. If you can't stand it, then so be it.

Posted on February 9, 2015, in Digital SLR Cameras, Everything Technological, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Feedbacks if necessary

