Late Post: Atlantis Production’s Piaf


spot.ph

I could not recall about what happened in the storyline of Piaf, but I think this was the only play I’ve watched that is not even school-related.

Actually, I was not interested to watch any play, but because one of my close friends introduced me to someone hmmm… (I don’t wanna elaborate further), well, I just said “yes” when he asked me if I’m interested in watching a play. When we went to the venue itself, nako, RCBC plaza has nothing really very special to offer except the facade of the building itself–and the auditorium is small, just like the audi that I went where I watched “King Lear” in the Filipino version. Well, I should have not worn a gown or a formal dress since my companion is super filthy rich (and tbh, he’s quite choosy and too particular with clothes–he has the traits of Komikado Kensuke, but less exaggerated).

The Whole Play

I didn’t expect that the play is about the personal life of Edith Piaf, and actually, the lights, the stage props, the costume, it shows the ambience of the mid- to late-19th century up to the early phase of the 20th century in France. The actors are really very professional, especially the likes of Pinky Amador and G Toengi. While I really liked the play in some aspects, I am not really much into Western-influenced form of entertainment, or any English-speaking play with this defined accent that we hear (in fact, I believe I’m more like a mediator between “sosyal” and “maka-masa” stuff). If you were to ask me, “Haring Lear” was more relatable and the actors are friendlier to the audience after the play (only a handful of the Piaf cast actually bothered to interact with the audience after the play). However, in Piaf, you’ll learn a lot of new stuff about history, and including the Nazi regime isn’t new to me after all. In fact, Piaf lived a very tragic life, and it really manifested that she’s more human, alongside the actors during the classical film age (to name a few, Audrey Hepburn, Greta Garbo, Brigitte Bardot, Rita Hayworth, Katharine Hepburn, Bette Davis, Elizabeth Taylor).

Pinky Amador did a very great job portraying Piaf. As much as I do admire her as a thespian, I really hated her in her role as Mei Mei in “Mangarap Ka,” starring Piolo Pascual. In contrast to Chin-Chin Gutierrez, she knows how to adjust herself from stage to onscreen drama. When her (Pinky) acting is for the stage, it’s for the stage, and when she’s onscreen, her acting suits right for the screen.

In the play, I also didn’t expect that I would encounter G Toengi in person, and yes, she’s also a stage performer. However, just like Chin-Chin, her acting isn’t really apt onscreen (check out her role as Stella in “Aryana”). I think she failed to adjust again when she came back from the US (she tried her luck to be in Hollywood). I thought she was snob at first since she went straight home from the play and did not interact with Pinky and the rest of the team, but when I tweeted to her on Twitter, she proved me wrong. She replied and told me to spread the word. I’d say that she’s really a great person inside and out, but since I am not very familiar with her personal life, I won’t turn on my Perez Hilton mode against her. Haha.

This play is something remarkable, which makes Pinky Amador a true-blooded and a legit thespian. No wonder, she has been well-respected in the showbiz industry as a pro and as a veteran as well.

Rating (4.0 as the highest, 1.0 as the lowest): 3.0-3.5

About Molybdenum Studios

I am a very opinionated person. Get used to it. If you can't stand it, then so be it.

Posted on July 17, 2013, in Asia, Continental Talks, For Your Entertainment, On the Stage, Philippines, States and Nations of the World and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Feedbacks if necessary

