Should one upgrade to another camera body/model?

Two sides of the story

Paul Quiambao, the so-called “Andrew Pamorada” of the University of Santo Tomas, said that one should first upgrade his/her potential to the fullest before going for an actual upgrade.

I totally agree with him, actually. After all, if I only used the 550D for only two years, I decided to upgrade to a 60D.

Two years is more than enough, actually. If you’re going to say that using for instance, a 350D for only a year and yet you suddenly upgraded to a 5D Mark III for instance, that’s not a problem, as long as you have the guts to exhaust your cam.

…which is not so healthy in terms of usage frequency.

When I started to upgrade to the 60D, things changed. I didn’t know that I should adjust first to the settings before using it. Again: It takes more than a year to fully maximize a DSLR’s functions.

On the contrary, Ken Rockwell insisted that upgrading is not necessary or essential at all, since he believes that “Canon, Nikon, Sony, Olympus, Pentax and even Hasselblad takes the same photos.”

Which is actually coming from the words of an experienced and talented person at the same time.

Like what I said

There’s no concrete rule in taking a perfect photograph since not even a single photo is one-shot perfect. It’s all about satisfaction.

Correct?

Ang hindi um-agree, good luck na lang! Chos!

Since I’m too biased, I could only answer the inquiries of Canon fanboys (fanboys pa talaga ah!). If I would take Canon for point-and-shoot, I’d say Sony is a better choice (Cyber-shot fangirl here). I’d go for a Cyber-shot TX series just in case I wanna have a new waterproof digital camera again.

Camera of Choice

IMG_5394

IMG_5393

Siyempre, I was very happy with it. When I first saw the 60D, I was so amazed, but I doubt, “Why the hell is this in Japanese?”

The Japanese version, indeed. Only English and Japanese were included (menu languages), so I always thought it is a grey market product.

But never mind. The 60D has much more advanced features than the 550D, and whether everyone doubts it or not, the 60D was my second option.

People say that it is a cross between the 550D/600D/650D and the 7D. It also comes with an interchangeable focusing screen, pentaprism VF, quick control dial (which controls the aperture), variable ISO speed selections, LCD panel, custom mode — these are the features that you could look for in a semi-pro model/body, while the SD card slot, polycarbonate built, presence of different auto modes and lack of sync port — these are the features that you could find in a Rebel/Kiss model/body. Therefore, it is a super Rebel.

Beginners could actually start with a 60D since it is no big deal whether your first DSLR would be the xxxD model or not, however, because of the articulated LCD monitor, this made the 60D as a bridge between high-end bodies and entry-level bodies.

If you’re going to start taking photographs, I suggest the 60D is the best option. No questions asked.

About Molybdenum Studios

I am a very opinionated person. Get used to it. If you can't stand it, then so be it.

Posted on February 18, 2013, in Photography, Photography Memoirs and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Feedbacks if necessary

