Canon EF-S 15-85mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM


Official Video Review of the lens by Molybdenum Studios (pt. 1)

So, please give a round of applause to my very own baby, the EF-S 15-85mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM lens!

If the review is too bitin for some of you guys, this post would be the blog version of the lens review…

A Brief Overview

The EF-S 15-85mm lens is actually designed as a premium kit option for the Canon EOS 7D. Now you know why this was my first lens choice ever since?

You got it, boss! Flexibility, build quality and almost-perfection. It is a lens that is both a combination of the EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM lens and the EF 28-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM lens, only packaged for APS-C EOS cameras.

One distinctive feature of this lens is its ability to reduce color fringing (officially called as Chromatic Aberration). This is one of the reasons why I have yet to create a video comparing both the Sigma and the Canon lens.

Here is one sample photograph taken with the EF-S 15-85mm lens:


Apologies if the white balance is wrong, but anyways… never mind.

Don’t worry… there’s still part two of the video review of the lens. In addition to everything that I have mentioned in the video and here, full-time manual focusing is only 1:4 because 1:3 is almost-macro (authentic version of full-time MF-ing). It should also be taken note that it has a METAL mount, not a plastic mount.

Comparison with the Sigma 18-200mm f/3.5-6.3 DC

I guess that the EF-S 15-85mm lens would be the winner right here. No biases intended.

I personally believe that the dude in SG was wrong. He was only forcing me to choose something that I didn’t like at the first place for profit. You know… profit-oriented sellers? But here in the Philippines, I feel more lax in choosing the 15-85mm lens. I love its performance due to its err… magic CA reduction inside? LOL, but speaking of comparing the two lenses… this will be featured in part two of the video. HAHA.

Well, I really had problems with the Sigma in terms of Manual Focusing. I think its focus range is VERY LIMITED, like I made a very wrong choice. Basically, I’m one of those people (not to brag, though) who do intensive research and ask advice from enthusiasts, because they know better, and it’s a good thing… I bought something at least, in me home country.

—-

There’s still a part two of this review! HAHAHA, stand by!

About Molybdenum Studios

I am a very opinionated person. Get used to it. If you can't stand it, then so be it.

Posted on September 7, 2012, in Digital SLR Cameras, Everything Technological, Photography, Video Reviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Feedbacks if necessary

