Music Review: Yoko Kanno’s Go to Rakuen/Requiem on Wolf’s Rain

It really made me cry.

That’s how promising Yoko Kanno is. She would simply create sad and happy songs, and of course, aside from being a composer, a pianist, she’s also a conductor herself. Believe it or not, she had many collaborations with foreign-language artists like Origa and Ilaria Graziano.

It reminds me of the worst tragedy ever in my whole entire life

I played that song when my godmother died of cancer. That’s right. I regret not talking to her before she passed away. I was indifferent and also, I was still in the ICP that time. I didn’t know that cancer is really a bad disease. Akala ko, curable talaga. However, I was wrong. I wanted to slap myself for being a bitch. Am I a bad person? Do you think I deserve all the punishment because of indifference?

God forbid.

It’s not only “Go to Rakuen” that made me cry

It’s much milder than “Rakuen/Requiem” itself, and it’s called, “Separated.” Another Yoko Kanno composition ‘yan.

I really like how Yoko Kanno brings the emotion to the listener.

Kanno-san deserves recognition, even without making a Hollywood soundtrack

Of course, she’s world-class, but because she’s more on composing for anime, why can’t she try collaborating with big names like Andrea Bocelli or Rammstein? She should give it a try. Big names, but at least, predominantly famous without even “living in America,” according to Rammstein.

About Molybdenum Studios

I am a very opinionated person. Get used to it. If you can't stand it, then so be it.

Posted on December 13, 2011, in Critique, For Your Entertainment, Genre Critique, Musicanova and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Feedbacks if necessary

