Back to my old lens, that is


My latest photo, this time using my good ol’ kit lens, that is.

I was right all along

I have nothing against third-party lenses and of course I’m not an elitist, but you have quality guaranteed on the marque lens. Yes, brand-specific lenses offer better quality and caters the needs of your Digital SLR and not only that — it doesn’t really matter at all whether the lens is Japanese-made or Taiwanese-made.

My choice of lens: EF-S 15-85mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM

My ambitions and plans are fucking ruined. Like how I ranted everything HERE and HERE, you’ll notice that I have big regrets after I had myself a third-party lens. Yes, the quality is good, but it is prone to Chromatic Aberration. The wide-angle and macro add-on lenses are only contributing to worsen the CA, making me again, shoot in RAW and of course, edit it in Photoshop.


wiki.panotools.org|This is what you get when you’re using a third-party lens most of the time (zoomed).

If I were to have the lens that I really wanted, there would be little CA and yes, it is the combination of the EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM and the EF 28-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM lens. The EF-S 15-85mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM has a coverage of 24-135mm when placed on an APS-C sensor. Yep, that’s right. It’s general-purpose and at the same time, flexible. You get a very decent wide-angle end at 15mm (24mm as 35mm equiv.) and of course, the 85mm (135mm) telephoto end is alright, no problem.

No need to post-process when you’re using marque lenses

To all the know-it-alls out there, this is what you get when you’re thinking that the insisting seller is “right.” You have to suffer from post-processing photos, while other people do not need to post-process everything. So, that’s why it’s back to my old lens, and despite its short focal range, it’s still alright, at least I have better-looking photos with the old one.

Noticeable, eh?

It’s really noticeable that my kit lens has better and much more superior image quality than my other lens. There’s nothing different between metal and plastic mount. Maniwala ka sa mga chink d’yan, I tell you, they’re not to be trusted worthwhile. Even if they’re being draggy against your will, better bring a feisty person with you to argue.

Why, do you think the EF 50mm f/1.8 II lens is not superb? It IS superb, but not really as superb as the f/1.4 and the f/1.2. The predecessor of my kit lens has good quality as well, but the quality of my kit lens is more advanced.

Of course, not listening to the coercive suggestions of the seller would only mean that you fight for what you believe in.

Lessons learned

It’s better to stick to your beliefs regarding gadgets rather than to be “taught a lesson” by the know-it-alls. Remember, you know better, and you have your choices. Like what Björk said, “It’s in our hands.”

About Molybdenum Studios

I am a very opinionated person. Get used to it. If you can't stand it, then so be it.

Posted on December 12, 2011, in Digital SLR Cameras, Fearless Forecast, Photography and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Feedbacks if necessary

