Should you follow your heart or the dictations of “authority”?


For instance, a small DSLR with a gargantuan professional-level lens would be awesome, but as for me, it’s too advanced.
Credits to the owner of the DSLR, but I took that picture above, that’s all.

I really do not know how to handle situations such as “self-desire vs. authoritarian orders.” If ever the “authorities” win over your will, I think for me, it’s really against the law. The penalty for doing so should be… rehab.

But they would say, “No, No, No.”

All my cameras… actually I was wishing for the DSC-P100/150 (7.2 MP resolution), I think, same with the DSC-N1. I have so many frustrations in gadgets, what now if it is DSLR-related? I think almost everything chosen for me is really against my will. If I would have myself a DSC-TX10, I say DSC-TX10. Other than that, you receive a gunshot from me. That’s how O.C. I am. You can’t change that.

If I were to choose between their choice and MY choice, in my heart and dignity, I’d still choose mine, no matter how consequential it would be.

See? No one should manipulate you, even your choices and decisions. As for me, I don’t really want to take up law (and yes, I do hesitate). Why should I take up law if my heart goes to the arts and traveling? Why should I make my life even more complicated if I just have to make money out of my shots, right? I really don’t want to pursue law, unless it’s really urgent to do so. I mean, I really do not want to defend someone who really did the crime or being slapped by my own client. I don’t want that to happen to me.

My parents are really pressuring me to take up this law thingy. I never dreamed to be a doctor or a lawyer (although they are the in-demand jobs in the Philippines, to be honest with you) but originally, I wanted to be a computer scientist. However, my high school’s quality of education sucks, so that’s why it hindered me to take up Computer Science. That was really my dream is because I don’t want my parents to feel the burden of going to computer fixing shops just to have it reformatted.

If I were to go back to the past, I should’ve transferred to another school because… there are a lot of opportunities waiting for me to come. That means, I would accomplish anything and everything. Yes, and I would have the guts to study more because, yeah…

Taking up law isn’t really my dream, to be honest. It’s a stupid family tradition that I don’t want to follow. I don’t want to experience shame and I really don’t want to experience the worst shit that I would never ever forget.

It’s a good thing I didn’t grew up in a traditional Chinese upbringing. My life would’ve been locked in a cage, thinking in a one-sided manner. It’s also a good thing that I am also not from a totalitarian state. Yes, I’m really a leftist thinker, politically (LGBT rights, gender equality) and ideally… but morally, I’m a conservative (I absolutely abhor the teachings of Scientology, I am against abortion, divorce is bullcrap and so forth, death penalty should be double-checked unless someone commits infanticide). Well, yeah. I want my future kids to be liberals, but still value-laden.

Yes, follow your desire, follow your heart. Don’t believe those draggy people who put you down or makes you feel bad about yourself. These people have high expectations that do not meet certain standards. You may think they are really hard to please, but mind you, I believe that your standards are just right for your decisions, theirs has only a maximum of zero. Higher than that, it is impossible. As for your standards, it is possible. Always be a fighter in every aspect of life, for the good of your own dignity.

About Molybdenum Studios

I am a very opinionated person. Get used to it. If you can't stand it, then so be it.

Posted on October 1, 2011, in Department of Liberal Arts, Opinion, Perfect Mismatch, The Philosopher, The Shrink and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. My brother suggested I might like this web site. He was entirely right. This post actually made my day. You can not believe simply how so much time I had spent for this info! Thank you!

  2. WONDERFUL Post.thanks for share..more wait .. ?

  3. Im impressed, I must say. Extremely rarely do I come across a weblog thats each informative and entertaining, and let me tell you, youve hit the nail on the head. Your blog is essential; the problem is something that not sufficient individuals are talking intelligently about. Im actually content that I stumbled across this in my search for something relating to this concern.

  4. Freezing at this point desired to tell you regarding very much great loved one and also my spouse and i get pleasure from most you talked over that will help raise the price of this life regarding men and women on this topic. Because of the article content, Relating to absent because of just simply a particular unskilled to some master in your community. It really is a classic honor to all your decent give good results. Thanks.

  1. Pingback: You have to know-it-all this time « Molybdenum Studios

Feedbacks if necessary

